Wikipedro: Richard Henry Dana Junior High


Dana Junior High (I love that they didn’t change the letters to middle school like someone-DODSON) is named for Richard Henry Dana Jr, an american lawyer and the author of Two Years Before The Mast, a memoir about his two years at sea that took him to western ports like San Pedro. The school opened for business on February 6, 1928. School colors are blue and gold and the mascot is the Mariner.


I don’t personally know much about Dana, I’ve only been on campus once as a child for a tap recital. I definitely remember the giant auditorium they had. I remember being awed by the size and expecting all junior high’s to have the same. Unfortunately Dodson’s Carter Hall left a little to be desired.

I did have the pleasure of being in front of the award winning Dana Middle School Band and Drill Team in the Christmas Parade. Those kids were amazing!

2 Responses

  1. Technically the school is misnamed. It should be RICHARD HENRY DANA JUNIOR JUNIOR HIGH SCHOOL, since it is a JUNIOR high school named after a JUNIOR.

Leave a comment