Guest Walker: Diane Teel

My family met Diane when she was my younger sister’s Girl Scout Leader and she’s been a super close family friend ever since. Diane was born and raised in San Pedro and has lived here most of her life a couple of blocks from Holy Trinity. She moved away for a bit and finally moved back a couple of years ago, settling here on Kerckhoff next door to one of my best friends (isn’t it funny how life works). Diane’s father was a local fisherman on one of the Starkist Tuna boats and was part of the crew of the Paramount that was captured and held in Ecuador for fishing in their waters in 1968. Her mother was a member of the Jugoslav Women’s club that sold the building to the Italian American club.

Diane is still getting to know her new neighborhood so I thought it would be perfect for her to join me on a walk. After our walk I took her over to the San Pedro historical archives and we both got lost looking around for a couple of hours.

Leave a comment