My Food

Buffets are serious business and it was the perfect day for me to do it. I had been sick to my stomach all week and the most I could eat were small bowls of oat meal. Suffice it to say, I had a week’s worth of hungry to deal with. So here are my plates. I have to admit that there was a 3rd round that I forgot to take a picture of, but it was just more Salmon and mashed potatoes.
Round 1

Round 2

It ended in a knock-out. But I was double teamed!

Kids Station


This is the Kids Station equipped with a tv playing Finding Nemo.

Stations of the Food Part 2


Fresh corn tortillas and a fajita bar

Menudo

Bread

Stations of the Food Part 1

SPBXB good friend and my neighbor Kathy Doty came along to show me the ropes. She suggested that we walk around and see all that there is to eat, then she picks stuff she doesn’t get to eat all the time. It’s gonna take two posts for me to get to all the food stations. Here we go.


The Omelette and Carving Station

Sushi and Stir Fry/ Pasta

Crab legs, whole salmon, shrimp and ceviche

A Ballroom of Flavors


The buffet stations were set up in the main ballroom and they took up at least half of the room. Think of all the wedding receptions that take place here, it’s like the entire dancefloor is covered with food.

First Impressions


The hostess led us to our table right next to the window that stretched from the floor to the ceiling the whole length of the building. It made for a crazy view to eat next to. We saw a sea lion pop in and out of the water next to the restaurant and even a container ship drag a tug.

Bite by Bite: Ports O'Call Restaurant


There are a couple of San Pedro Culinary Experiences to be had at Ports O’Call, one was the tray of shrimp at the Fish Market that I had a couple of weeks ago and the other is the Sunday Champagne Brunch at the Ports O’Call Restaurant. I had heard about it over the years but never got the chance to go. When a friend told me how good it was a couple of weeks ago I knew it would make for a pretty epic Bite by Bite.

The Ports O’Call Restaurant opened in 1961 as a polynesian themed eatery with a sampan floating in a lagoon out front. As you can see in the photo above, the restaurant preceded the village of shops. In 1984 the menu was changed to a Steak and Seafood fare.