Making Cents of Things

It is officially 12:24 am on Friday June 18th. Which means that San Pedro: Buck by Buck has officially begun. For the next month my dollars are confined to the boundaries that I drove in my now infamous video, San Pedro in 10 minutes or less. Someone asked me if Rancho Palos Verdes counts. Now thats where the line gets a little fuzzy. This isn’t Block by Block with strict boundaries. There is a good chance that San Pedrans own businesses on Western. So if it’s on Western and is technically within the boundaries of RPV, the only way I will spend my money there is if I can verify that the owner resides in San Pedro. Sure, not every San Pedro business owner lives in town, but their business does. All I care is that one of them stays in Pedro.

So before the clock struck midnight I had to go visit a friend of mine. I won’t name names.

Not many of you know this, but I am a bit of an iced tea fiend (I get it from my Mom). I used to drink the hard stuff…soda. But I kicked that habit like I kicked smoking. Ask any barista in San Pedro what that big girl with the computer drinks and they will tell you “venti black iced tea unsweetened”. Sure, I spend a lot of time at Starbucks but I spend way more money a week on iced teas at Jack in the Box. So I had to stop by and tell Jack that he wasn’t going to see me for a while, but that he shouldn’t worry because I’ll be fine. We’ll both be fine. Needless to say he didn’t take the news well, but I have a feeling he’ll be ok.

So finding an iced tea fix substitute will have to be one of my first tasks. I will have to make some at home, but there are some places in town I could drop in and grab a glass. I’ll have to let you know. It’s time for me to choose community over convenience.

One Response

  1. Just wanted to let you know that all business, north of Western and the Terraces area including the homes were all in San Pedro. We were annexed into RPV back in the early 80’s. Alot of the old-timers really didn’t like it a bit. I know my father and others continued to use San Pedro and zip 90732 for long as they possibly could. It wasn’t until the Bank of San Pedro up on Western Ave. wouldn’t acknowledge that our address was no longer in SP on a check order that we gave in. Say hello to your mom for me, she’ll remember me from SPHS.

Leave a comment